All this altitude gives me vertigo

By: traceyf

Jun 15 2007

Category: Photos, Westward Dreams

2 Comments

We left Red Deer on Sunday morning and held our breath as we headed into the Rockies, knowing that many places were flooded out, we hoped that Yoho at its higher elevation would give us salvation and a relaxing hike in the rockies.  Thankfully Yoho was willin to accomidate us again, we even managed to get the campsite next to the one we had previously stayed, it edged the campground and backed right onto the Kicking Horse River, It was beautiful, but it was wet.  We arrived and within hours the rain was coming down on us, we did what trails we could without requiring a full hosing post trail, nothing difficult, but enough to get us out.  We stayed 2 nights and decided to not chance the waterproofness of our tent any further and we left on Tuesday.  Sick of all this flooding we sought higher ground, MUCH higher ground, and decided to stay at Canada’s Highest Elevation between the Rockies and NL in Cypress Hills InterProvincial Park.  Can you believe the highest altitude is at the Alberta Saskatchewan border at a total of 4900 feet?  Amazing, not only did you have the beautiful Prairie Sky, but you had challenging terrain and hikes.  We stayed 2 nights on top of Canada, and then began our trek back home.  Just outside Regina last night we were plagued with more rain at the KOA where we were only second highest to the grain elevator on the prairie with a severe thunderstorm rolling through.  We left this morning at 5am Mountain time, and landed in Thunderbay at 2200 EST (2000 MT)  for our hopefully last rest stop before home tomorrow.  All of this driving has left me with a severe case of vertigo, and I am often checking myself to see that I am indeed standing upright, and no I haven’t been sneaking any of Rod’s infamous Screech. 

2 comments on “All this altitude gives me vertigo”

  1. That is a positively glorious photo!

  2. The first time I experienced Vertigo symptoms was right after I had a nasty bout with bronchitis. I had already missed one week of work because of it. On the day I planned on returning to work; I got up when my alarm went off and promptly hit the floor.I didn’t fall to the floor because my legs were weak. I didn’t even feel “bad”. But I was as dizzy as you could get. Scared out of my wits – I’d never experienced any thing like this before in my life – I crawled my way to the living room and climbed into a chair. The dizziness remained. I made coffee, thinking the Vertigo symptoms would go away. They didn’t and I decided to go to the emergency room.:

    Our personal web blog
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/valerian-root-dosage/


Leave a Reply

